November 29, 2018 (Knoxville Raceway) – Kevin Dedmon took home not only the biggest win of his sim racing career, but also pocketed $500 for his efforts in the 11th Annual iRacingiFlag Gobbler 100 on Thursday night.

The Shelby, NC driver entered the night having come up just .008 short of notching his first career win in a VLR sanctioned race the night before. This time, Dedmon made sure he had his dirt street stock clearly in front at the end of a grueling 100 lapper.

120 drivers attempted to make the 24 car field in what was the largest field in the long history of the Gobbler 100. Unfortunately 96 drivers would be sent home as the field was whittled down throughout a series of heat races and consolation races throughout the night. Drivers from all over the globe signed up for the event, with drivers competing from the United States, Australia, Canada, and Ireland for a chance to shine.

Dedmon started the main event from third and patiently worked his way to the lead over pole-sitter and World of Outlaws Sprint Car World Champion Tim Ryan on lap 42. From there, the track would go through changes that would make the dominant fast line around the very bottom of the half-mile track. This was exactly what Dedmon had hoped for and he would use it to his advantage to hold off a hard charging Barrett Bishop, from Mount Holly, NC, and Howard Weaver, from Crossville, TN.

“I knew I had white knuckles there at the end,” said a jubilated Dedmon in victory lane. “I was married to the bottom all night, I don’t think I turned one lap that wasn’t around the bottom. I made up my mind in the beginning that if I lost this race it wasn’t gonna be from someone driving under me.”

Dedmon went on to lead the last 58 laps after taking the top spot, but it wasn’t without constant challenges from a host of drivers including Barrett Bishop, Alex Bergeron, Rocky Battenfield, Howard Weaver and many others. Despite the pressure, Dedmon never cracked en route to the victory.

On the final lap, Bishop decided it was time to make his attempt at the win in turn three and four. The driver of the 03 machine drove in deep to push the 5 of Dedmon up the track in an attempt to sneak under for the win. The two made contact but Dedmon was able to gather it up and take victory in his first ever Gobbler 100 race. Dedmon snagged the win by just over a tenth of a second over Bishop. Weaver crossed the line another tenth back.

Former NASCAR Peak Antifreeze series champion Tyler Hudson earned the Evil One Graphix $25 Hard-Charger award after advancing from dead last (24th) to finish 4th.

Jason Salter was the recipient of the Capron Screen Printing $25 Fast Lap award, while Tim Ryan and Ryan Flaten earned $15 each for winning their 30 lap qualifier races to start front row of the main event. John Allensworth and Mike Crawn each received $10 for being the Full Velocity TV Hard Luck Bonus for being the first two cars out of the main event. EJ Jones won the Eichstadt Motorsports $12 for 12th award for finishing in twelfth place in the Gobbler 100.

In addition to the big win, Dedmon received a custom Back the Blue iRacingiFlag Gobbler 100 pit box for his efforts. We at VLR would also like to thank Race On Texas for being a valued partner and sponsoring the race broadcast. We would also like to take the time to thank all of the racers that came out to run with us and all of the admins who put in the time to make this a great event. We hope to see you all back next year!

Full A Main Results:
1. Kevin Dedmon
2. Barrett Bishop
3. Howard Weaver
4. Tyler Hudson
5. Alex Bergeron
6. Jason Salter
7. Rocky Battenfield
8. Zach Leonhardi
9. Randall Carter
10. Garrett Manes
11. Lucas Chowning
12. EJ Jones
13. Chase Wascom
14. Trevor Fitz
15. Nick DelCampo
16. DJ Kilanowski
17. Joshua Laughton
18. Connor Parise
19. Leo Pina
20. Jeremy Capron
21. Tim Ryan
22. Shane James
23. Shad Prescott
24. Ryan Flaten