February 19, 2019 (MECHANICSBURG, PA) – NASCAR K&N driver Chase Cabre snagged his first win of the season at VLR last night in a wild race at the Williams Grove Speedway in the South Texas Speedway Winter Super LM Series.

Despite starting eighth, Cabre quickly began mounting a charge to the front of the field. By lap 20, he had already found himself moving in front of pole-sitter and points leader Hayden Cardwell.

The always treacherous Williams Grove Speedway featured a multitude of competitive racing grooves on this night, with drivers frequently going three and even four wide around the half-mile oval at times.

Once the dust settled on the red-clay however, it was Cabre who would fend off defending World of Outlaws Late Model Series iRacing Champion Zach Leonhardi for the win. Leonhardi started 14th and finished second, just two car lengths behind Cabre.

Another driver who made great use of the the multi-laned surface was James Edens, who picked up the Hard Charger Award after powering his way from the B Main to start 21st in the A main and bring home a podium finish in third.


– Odd fact of the day: All four races this season have been won by drivers with the first two letters of their last names starting with “Ca”

– Hayden Cardwell set quick-time on the night, which has become a recurring theme in this series. Dylonn Fox and Blake Matjoulis rounded out the top three starters.

– Heat Winners were Cardwell, Fox, Matjoulis, and Alex Bergeron.

– The D Main was won by Blake Brown, while Tj Coggins took home the C Main win. Tyler Hudson would grab the B Main.

– Hayden Cardwell earned quick time honors in the A Main, with a blistering 20.335 lap time.

– A season high eleven Hanover Wrecker Service caution flags slowed the pace of the 60 lap main event as drivers struggled at times on the tight surface of Williams Grove.

– James Edens picked up the Hard Charger award after advancing 18 spots on the night from 21st to third. Other notables included Zach Leonhardi, who advanced from 14th to 2nd, and Howard Weaver, who moved from 16th to 5th despite restarting 21st after a mid-race spin. Kevin Dedmon advanced 12 spots from 20th to 8th, while Terry Wolfe powered from 24th to 9th, showing the different racing lines available to make passes.

– The strength of field for the race was 5074, which is the highest rated field strength in VLR history, and a stronger rated field than any of the World of Outlaws Pro Series races in Late Models and Sprint cars in 2018.

Unofficial A Main Results (start position in parenthesis):

Finish / Start / Name / Location
1. (8) Chase Cabre / Tampa, FL
2. (14) Zach Leonhardi / Cartersville, GA
3. (21) James Edens / Petaluma, CA
4. (2) Dylonn Fox / Plymouth, WI
5. (16) Howard Weaver / Crossville, TN
6. (1) Hayden Cardwell / Knoxville, TN
7. (12) Tyler Ducharme / Bomoseen, VT
8. (20) Kevin Dedmon / Shelby, NC
9. (24) Terry Wolfe / Ashland, KY
10. (19) Kendal Tucker / Mt. Airy, NC
11. (17) Tyler Hudson / Brandon, MS
12. (5) Dylan Wilson / Bakersfield, CA
13. (13) JD Brown / Bakersfield, CA
14. (6) Adam Elby / Tracy, CA
15. (22) David Sutton / Portland, OR
16. (11) DJ Kilanowski / LaSalle, IL
17. (15) Nick Daffern / San Tan Valley, AZ
18. (9) Virgil Graham / Eldred, PA
19. (18) Shad Prescott / Missouri
20. (10) Austin Carr / Brandon, FL
21. (7) Dylan Houser / Ocala, FL
22. (4) Alex Bergeron / Drummondville, QC, CA
23. (3) Blake Matjoulis / Ashland, NY
24. (23) Thomas Coggins / Laurens, SC